Feature & Follow #1: Book Breakup

Q: Have you ever broken up with a series? If so, which one and why?

Oh my gosh, yes. Yes I have. The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. The whole series is about this boy who wakes up one day to find himself in a box that eventually opens up into the center of a maze with a bunch of other boys in a Lord of the Flies type community. They all have no idea how they got there, and they have no idea how to get out. It’s another dystopian series and I’d heard really promising things about it, so I gave it a shot.

The first book was extreeemmmeelllyyyy dull (with the exception of 20 pages or so near the end), and after that, I didn’t want to touch another book from the series. But a friend convinced me to check out the sequel, and it was slightly better, but still not fabulous. At that point I decided to break it off and give up on the rest of the series (even though a tiny part of me is itching to know what happened to all the characters in the final books).

6 thoughts on “Feature & Follow #1: Book Breakup

  1. I love your blog! I'm following you through GFC. Thanks for following me!And I have yet to read The Maze Runner, but I've heard that the first book is dull from several people. 🙂

  2. I've only read the first book and I agree it got really interesting towards the end, and I don't yet know if I really should bother with the second one. What do you suggest? Thanks so much for dropping by Abbie! Following back via GFC and bloglovin.

Leave a Reply

